Australia Day in Junee

Child page

Official Australia Day Ceremony

Australia Day is a day to reflect, respect and celebrate the Australian spirit and the best of this country – our mateship, our nation and our people — it is an opportunity to open our hearts, respect our differences, and celebrate our strength, our generosity and our strong sense of community.

Join us as we celebrate Australia Day in the Junee Shire at the Official Australia Day Ceremony. Held at the beautiful Athenium Theatre, 89 Broadway Street, Junee.

Australia Day Awards

Nominations are now closed for Australia Day Awards celebrated on January 26 each year following nominations from the community in the following categories:

  • Citizen of the Year – A person 26 years of age or over who has given conspicuous service to an organisation or the community generally, or to specific causes.
  • Young Citizen of the Year – The criteria is the same as for Citizen of the Year, however the person nominated must be under 25 years of age as at 1 January 2022. Of necessity, the emphasis need not be on longstanding contributions. Consideration will also be given to acts of compassion, generosity, bravery, etc.
  • Sports Award of the Year –  recognises outstanding achievement by an individual in the feld of sport be it as a participant, administrator or behind the scenes contributor.
  • Arts & Community Award of the Year – recognises outstanding achievement or community engagement by an individual in the field of art and culture.
  • Team of the Year – recognises outstanding contribution by a team/group in the Junee Shire. This may be related to the general community, sports, the arts, health, youth or other organisation.

Jail Break Fun Run

The annual GEO Group/Junee Junction Australia Day “Jail Break” Fun Run will be held on Friday, 26 January 2024 starting at 7.30am, following a basically flat 3.2km course between the entry to the Junee Correctional Centre and the Junee Junction Recreation & Aquatic Centre.


A sausage sizzle will be available for all competitors at the Junee Junction Recreation & Aquatic Centre after the race.

Thanks to the GEO Group, 3 x $100 cash prizes will be awarded to randomly selected finishers and 6 x wooden toys for wheelies under 8 years old.

All 1st place-getters in each of the following three categories will receive a medallion (to be presented at the Official Australia Day Ceremony) commemorating their achievement – Open Male & Female, Junior Male & Female (15 & under), Open Wheelie and Junior Wheelie.

Entries will be received at Junee Junction Recreation Centre up until 5.00pm on Monday, 22 January 2024 and at the race start on the day up until 6.55am. All entries must be on a completed official entry form and EACH participant must complete a separate form.

Download: Jail Break Inn Fun Run Registration Form

Australia Day Colouring Competition

Prizes for the winners in each category:

Sheets available from Junee Shire Council, Junee Library and the Junee Recreation & Aquatic Centre. Return completed sheets to Junee Shire Council by Friday, 12 January, 2024. Winners will be advised by phone and announced at the Australia Day Official Ceremony.

Australia Day Award Winners

Year Citizen of the Year Young Citizen of the Year Sports Award Arts & Community Award Team of the Year
2024 Ian Manwaring Claire Foley Elise Smith Dr. Susan Wood Junee SES
Year Citizen of the Year Young Citizen of the Year Sports Award Art & Culture Award Team of the Year
2023 Gail Commens Jackson White  Noel & Edna Poynter  Francis Griffin  Junee Rescue Squad
Year Citizen of the Year Young Citizen of the Year Sports Award Junior Sports Award Volunteer Team of the Year
2022  Maree Allamby  Jason Barrett  Grace Holaj  Junee Roundhouse Museum
2021  John Foord  Oliver Phillips  Steve Gentle  Bailey Willis  Junee Business and Trades
2020  Maria Turner  Harrison Fahy  Cameron Hart  Ellouise Drew  Old Junee Hall & Progress Association
2019  Julie Shepherd  Mae-Rose Harrison  Junee Men’s Bowling Club Grade 4 Pennant Team  Jaxson Allen  Junee Community Power Inc.
2018  Jackie Starr  Zyon Shepherd  Brooke Harpley  Junee Community Transport Volunteer Drivers
2017  Norm Bray  Nastarsha Miller  Junee Men’s Bowling Club Grade 6 Pennant Team  Hayley Hackett  Phil & Lola Cummins – Schoolboys Football Carnival
2016  Harry Thompson  Jackson Bennett  Tristen Ross  Abbey Field  Roundhouse Museum
2015  Darby Asmus Ebony Becquet Edna Poynter Molly Turton Open Kitchen
2014  Adrian Eisenhauer  Georgia Logan  Dominic Shepherd  Tamsyn Scott
2013  Estella Hyde  Aiden Harrison  Julie Shepherd  Cameron Hands
2012  Patrick Foley  Jade Belling  Bryan Purse  Sean Smith
2011  Eileen Thomas  Alana Jacobson  Sonia Commins  Billie-Rose Deacon
2010  Dennis Sullivan  Adam Jacobson  Noel Lawson  Xenia Brookes
2009  Edward (Ted) Drum  Joshua Whitty  Elise Smith
2008  John Strudwick  Megan Callow  Nathan Jacobson  Junee High School Open Rugby League Football Team
2007  Martin Honner  Joshua Bennett  Paul McCarthy  St Joseph’s Primary School Rugby League Team 2006
2006  Robin Cuttle  Rebecca Spink  John Clune  Andrew Heffernan
2005  David Carter  Phillipa Nell  Daniel Halliburton  Simon Drum
2004  John Higginson  Sophie Cooper  Martin Holmes Samuel Clune
2003  Keith Hargraves  Grant Higginson  Stephen Guthrie  Michael Dobson
2002  Margaret Schubach  Phillip Kearins Jnr  Peter Hill